Pamana – Awesome Filipino Cuisine

After bloating my self with all the food during the holidays, I have developed a craving for Filipino Food!  What a better way to indulge this craving but to visit Pamana in Tagaytay City (along Aguinaldo Highway, a few meters before the Lourdes Church).  Pamana is actually right beside the well-visited Bed and Breakfast destination, Boutique.

Pamana prides itself with a unique set of Filipino cuisine with a twist.  I never knew that it was owned by the Ongpauco Family (Heart Evangelista’s Clan) until I noticed some of the pictures along the walls of the restaurant.  I went there for dinner with my family and we had to wait for a good 20 minutes before we actually had our table.  You can see that there are really a lot of people visiting the place, as it is always full when we pass by the area.

Since there were only 6 of us who went there, we were only able to try a few dishes.  And as a carb-addict, I shall start with the sumptuous Adobo Rice (they said it’s good for two, but I think it’s good enough for 3).

I am a big Adobo Rice Fan so whenever there’s an Adobo Rice on the menu, I am definitely going to try it.  For the Pamana Adobo Rice, I would have loved it better if there were more sauce (yes, i like my rice saucy) and the meat were cut a little smaller because I like it ala Chowking Chao-fan style where the meat is actually mixed with the rice itself.  But in terms of taste, I would rate it an 8/10.

Next, to satisfy my Dad’s craving, we got the Nilagang Bulalo which is something that Tagaytay Restaurants are really known for.

Yes, I was not able to get a decent picture. I told you, my Dad really loves Bulalo.  As soon as we finish our prayer, he went on to slide the meat and serve everyone (that’s his hand over there, sorry for that).  The meat was PERFECT. It was really soft and juicy, it almost melted on my mouth.  The veggies were also cooked just right for me — I like them a little crunchy (gives me the impression of freshness).  Before I tasted this one, my favorite Bulalo would be the one from LZM (also a restaurant in Tagaytay, accross Starbucks) which I would rate 10/10.  But this one also gets a 10/10 from me. 🙂

In the spirit of not endulging myself with too much fat, I ordered Bangus Belly and Tofu Sisig.  Ok, it would still have some fat, but it has TOFU, that’s healthy, right? 🙂

This gets a 9/10 from me.  It is very tasty, it’s good enough even without all the condiments that would usually go with our typical sisig (soysauce, calamansi/vinegar and sili).  I think it also goes very well with the Nilagang Bulalo.  It would probably get that +1 point had the tofu been crunchier. But still, it’s a must-try!

Lastly, we got the Three-way adobo. Adobong Puti (on the top), Adobo Flakes and Spare Ribs Adobo.

My favorite among the three would be the Adobong Puti, maybe because it’s the most unusual.  I would rate this dish 8/10, I think the Spare Ribs were a little to salty for me so I almost did not eat that and finished the Adobong Puti instead.

Aside from the food, I also enjoyed looking around and seeing some old memorabilias from the Ongpauco Family.

They were also selling some cute stuff like these…

Have you visited Pamana? Let us know what you think! 🙂

~ by youknowicanseeyou on January 2, 2012.

One Response to “Pamana – Awesome Filipino Cuisine”

  1. Mouth watering!

Leave a Reply

 
