I just can’t stop

More free time at work is one of the many things that I love about the Christmas Season.  People have already started taking their Holiday leaves and I am left with more time to discover new things by reading other blogs.

One of the blogs I follow (and hugely admire) is the one by AddieBut no, I wont be writing about her impeccable writing style now (but maybe next time).  I am actually writing about one of her regular blog posts, which is answering the daily questions from Palm Trees and Bare Feet.   The daily questions here are not really extraordinary and out of this world, but they will really trigger you to think deep.

So just for today, I’d like to answer this question.

I can’t stop thinking about my future.

This might be my version of Quarter-Life Crisis.  A lot of people around me are actually making some life-changing decisions – they are either getting engaged or married or pregnant or moving into a new company or a new country.  Me? I’m just here. In the exact same place (company) and situation as 3 years ago.  Well, I might be earning a little bit more than 3 years ago, but still, I am here.

Don’t get me wrong, I am in a wonderful mutinational company, one that many business school graduates would want to be in.  But somehow, with so many people taking leaps of faith, I just had to ask myself if this is really the best thing for me.  It appears that I am not challenging myself enough.  That I am, well, just settling.

So right now, I am asking myself, should I try to get out there and seek for other employment opportunities? Should I just start up my new business (but what type)? Should I pursue MBA? Should I try looking for jobs abroad? Or should I just stay right here.

If you were me, what would you do?

~ by youknowicanseeyou on December 20, 2011.

3 Responses to “I just can’t stop”

  1. If I didn’t know any better, I’d say I wrote this post. I feel the exact same way. There are a lot of changes going on, not only where I’ve worked the past 5 years, but also with friends. Some are moving away, some are moving on to the next chapter of their lives and starting a family. It’s hard sitting here, watching all these things unfold and wonder the same as you… if I should be doing the same as others. Should I try for a better job? Should I try to start a business? Should I just settle down and start a family? Or am I OK where I am right now? It’s a lot of thinking, for sure. Only advice I can give is to do what makes you happy, because life is too short to just be going through the motions and not being truly happy. It’s a tough economy right now, but it’s cyclical and will get better, and hopefully you will find your answers sooner rather than later. Take care! ~V

    • It’s actually a relief to know that someone out there feels the exact same thing. I hope you find your answers soon enough too and let me know what you did and how you did it 🙂

      Thanks!

  2. I think it’s perfectly normal to be worried about the future, we all have to be.

Leave a Reply

 
