why i like US advertisements

I have been browsing youtube for some advertisements, and here are some of the things that caught my attention.

First in my list is this Sierra Mist commercial which really claims it’s being all-natural compared to its main competitor Sprite.  I like how US regulations on advertisements are able to provide such freedom to advertisers in terms of what they can really say vs their competitors. 

This way, consumers like us are really able to compare and make guided decisions.  I wonder when advertisers in the Philippines will be allowed to do the same.  As I see it now, the advertisements can only be compared to a certain “Brand X” like this Milk commercial below.

I hope there comes a point when we can freely choose which products to buy by simply watching advertisements, this way, we can ensure the companies see to it that the products they have are able to provide better value against their competitors.  This places the bar always at a higher level, which is always advantageous for consumers like you and me.

~ by youknowicanseeyou on August 19, 2011.

3 Responses to “why i like US advertisements”

  1. This really interests me. I wonder if philippines advertising will ever be like that…

  2. Sierra mist is really better!

  3. i agree with this. sobrang mahigpit ata ang rules dito sa atin. i even notice some commercials have to blur the picture of their competitor unlike the sierra mist commercial that you posted na side by side talaga.

Leave a Reply

 
